The Royal Trophy brings together the Continents of Europe and Asia for a highly competitive and emotionally-charged team match-play epic Championship featuring sixteen foursomes, four-ball and singles matches. The Continents are respectively represented by their very best professional golfers in the quest for the Championship’s Principal Award — the honour of stewardship of the perpetual sixteen-kilogramme solid-silver Royal Trophy, which was graciously donated by the world’s longest reigning monarch — His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand. The Majestic Competition was created through the vision of the legendary five-time Major winner Severiano Ballesteros.

The third edition of the Royal Trophy, held in January 2009 was a tremendous success. The event attracted record galleries for Asian golf and featured a highly competitive spirit throughout the matches.

Under the captaincy of thirty-five time tournament title winner Naomichi ‘Joe’ Ozaki the Asian Team recorded a colossal and historic victory over the Europeans with Asia’s top Players producing golf of tremendous quality and demonstrating the highest level of determination. Overall the Royal Trophy registered spectator attendance of over 40,000 at the golf course.

The fourth edition of the Royal Trophy is scheduled to take place on January 8-10, 2010 and is expected to be an even greater success. Following Asia’s colossal win in 2009, the Europeans will certainly be on a most important mission to regain stewardship over the coveted Royal Trophy. However, Asia is set to deliver its very best golfing talent to defend its position as Royal Trophy champions.

Japanese golfing giant Naomichi ‘Joe’ Ozaki continues his captaincy of the Asian Team and has already nominated seven of the eight Players who will comprise the Asian defense — eighteen-year-old global sensation — Ryo Ishikawa; Asia’s number one Player — Thongchai Jaidee; ten-time Tour title winner — Prayad Marksaeng; the Japan Tour’s current number one Player — Yuta Ikeda; the winner of a multitude European and Asian Tour titles — Charlie Wi; two-time Asian Tour Order of Merit champion — Jeev Milkha Singh; and China’s number one golfer — Liang Wen-chong.

Current European Ryder Cup Captain Colin Montgomerie will lead the European challenge against Asia and already counts with world number seven — Henrik Stenson, 2008 European Order of Merit champion — Robert Karlsson and current European number three — Martin Kaymer. The early appointments of three of Europe’s longest hitters and most accomplished golfers is the Continent’s clear notice that eight-time Ryder Cup Player and eight-time European Tour Order of Merit winner Montgomerie is in the process of constructing a fantastic team to take the challenge to Asia in Thailand in January 2010.

The fourth edition of the Royal Trophy promises to be a golfing battle for the ages.

Source: The Royal Trophy release